Philosophy & Psychology Department, Ravenshaw University, Cuttack


Psychology and Philosophy Department
Ravenshaw University came into existence on the 15th day of November, 2006. It was an upgradation of Ravenshaw College established in 1868, one of the oldest and largest colleges in India which subsequently became an autonomous college with CPE status by UGC and ‘A’ grade by NAAC.


The College with all its glorious academic achievement and ceaseless scholastic pursuits had already created a distinct niche for itself in India and beyond. The history of this great institution is, in a manner of speaking, the history of modern Orissa. It was the cradle of ideas fostering national unity and nationalism, promoting social mobilization and gearing up the freedom struggle.


The University has 27 departments of which Department of Psychology and Philosophy are two of the pioneering Departments of the University. These two Departments are expected to infuse the budding innovators with the essence of ethics and social views into their innovations.


Contact info:
Prof. Patitapaban Das,    Email:
Prof. Sangeeta Rath,    Email: